Songs Written by Len Abram Contact Len Abram
Home of LenAbram.com Novels by Len Abram Short Stories by Len Abram About Len Abram   Articles About and By Len Abram Book Reviews by Len Abram Media - Len Abram

Novels
 

Empty Doorways, a Novel by Len Abram.

Empty Doorways
(Publication Date:  Fall 2018)

It will be published by Foundations Books

"Click on Empty Doorways to read a synopsis and the first chapter; and and here to read the first two chapters."

 

Len Abram's newest novel

 

 

Debris 
Copyright New York Times

Order DEBRIS

From
Amazon or
Barnes & Noble

Debris (Publication Date:  May 7, 2015) A Novel of War, Love and the Lusitania by Len Abram

Click on the New York Times to read the first chapter of Debris by Len Abram

    Click here to read the firs three chapters of The Medallion by Len Abram
The Medallion

Order
THE MEDALLION

From
Amazon or
Barnes & Noble

The Medallion: (Publication Date:
December 1, 2014)

Click on the book cover to read the first four chapters of The Medallion  by Len Abram
 

On May 7, 1915, the Lusitania, Cunard's most luxurious vessel, winner of the international prize for the fastest ship of its kind, was torpedoed by a German U-boat in the Celtic Sea, Ireland.

The ship sank in 18 minutes with a loss of 1,201 lives, of which 128 were Americans. Among these were Alfred Vanderbilt, one of the richest men in America, and Charles Frohman, the impresario who brought the play Peter Pan to the New York stage.

Boston was well represented on the casualty list, including Leslie Lindsey, age 28. Her father William was  known in Boston as the self-made millionaire who became a writer. Leslie and her husband, sailing to England on their honeymoon, both drowned. When a trawler found her body, she still wore a necklace, her parents’ wedding gift.

William Lindsey and his wife Anne used the jewels as the down payment for a chapel in Leslie’s honor. Weddings are performed today in the Leslie Lindsey Memorial Chapel at 15 Newbury in Boston.

The Lusitania was carrying contraband, bullets and shells, so the ship was targeted regardless of the civilians.  The German Embassy warned travelers not to sail -- largely ignored.

How did German intelligence learn about the contraband? Spies. That much we know, along with the heroics of Vanderbilt and Frohman as the vessel sank.

Who these spies were, in the novel two young men from the German army and a young woman from the Ukraine,  and what happened to them and the people with whom their lives intersected,  that is what Debris, a 95,000 word work of fiction, attempts to find out. Click on this link for the first chapter.

The 100th anniversary of the disaster – and the publication date of the novel – was May 7, 2015.

Sasha Denisov, a Ukrainian immigrant and Chechen war veteran, drives a Boston cab.  He dreams of buying his own taxi medallion and remarrying Ani, a Russian immigrant, whom he first married to get a green card -- and then fell in love with.  She has other dreams, however, which she believes her work for an escort service will make come true.

When Sasha tries to purchase his medallion, he comes into conflict with a Colombian taxi owner, who has interests in drugs and prostitution.  In the violence that ensues, Sasha is forced to fall back on survival skills he learned in the brutality of the Chechen war and thought he would never need again.

The Medallion is an 70,000 word suspense novel set in contemporary Boston. If the novel has literary godfathers, they would be Robert Parker, Dennis Lehane and Martin Cruz Smith; the first two for compelling action around Boston, with its interesting history and ethnic diversity, a melting pot still coming to a boil; and the third writer for resilient characters in a failed society (the Soviet Union and the Russian Federation).  

In the tradition of Parker and Lehane, the novel careens through the streets and little known neighborhoods of Boston, following Sasha's attempt to woo his love and ensure his own survival, even as his freedom is threatened by Ben Schwartz, a Boston homicide detective nearing retirement. Haunted by a decade-old murder of a medical school professor in her prime, Schwartz and his partner Di Natale get an unexpected break in that case while pursuing Sasha and push both investigations forward.

In the novel, the transplanted Russians, Israelis, Somalis, Colombians, Haitians, among others and some illicitly, are pursuing the American Dream. Readers, I believe, will find a connection with their striving.

Boston Photograph:  Bryan A. Watkins